Week 22 — Consciously Silent

Silence is golden when you can’t think of a good answer.

~ Muhammad Ali, in More Than a Hero

This week assignment is to practice SILENCE. It is perfect timing for me, because I have signed up for a weekend (Mar 5-6) retreat with Rama John Makransky. My first silent meditation retreat was in 1995. It was a weekend residential meditation retreat. Unfortunately, at that time I was in the throes of a storm, both personal and at work. The only thing that I believed could help me solve all of those problems was silent meditation. Thanks to my co-worker, Cheerawat, when I asked him for a ride he not only took me and also attended with me. Two full days of group (100 plus people) participated in silent meditation. The teacher taught Vipassana technique which includes alternating sitting and walking meditation for 45 minutes each. In the morning and evening, we chanted and listened to dharma talks. Each meal, we were encouraged to focus our attention to eating mindfully – acknowledging both flavor and texture.

It was amazing. In less than 48 hours, my life had been transformed. I walked in like a very sick person, but when I left I was full of energy, I felt vibrant, enthusiastic and confident. I returned home to my beautiful world.

Everything in the Universe is what it is by virtue of its rate of vibration. Change the rate of vibration and you change the nature, quality and form. We can change the vibration and thus produce any condition which we desire to manifest in our bodies.” (Haanel — Week 22 -6)

Later I attended a 3-day, 5-day, 7-day, and 10-day residential silent meditation every once in awhile. I also like to attend 2-day non-residential silent meditation; I personally practice about 6 hours a day with a group. Even though it is not an entirely silent environment, I can choose to practice my conscious silence. This weekend is a guided meditation “To receive love deeply and extend it impartially can help the mind release into its most natural state: the wisdom of openness, simplicity and presence beyond self-clinging. By resting in its natural state, the mind can deeply relax, heal, and further unleash its innate capacity of loving compassion.” (Rama John Makransky)

My intention is to begin practicing consciously Silent from tonight after posting this blog, till Sunday, the 6th, at 3 pm. – no connection with my phone, email, internet, and television; no initiating conversation – I would like to focus on silence because it brings balance and silence builds healthy vibration.

We know that a higher rate of vibration governs, modifies, controls, changes, or destroys a lower rate of vibration. We know that the rate of vibration is governed by the character of brain cells, and finally, We know how to create these brain cells;…” (Haanel — Week 22 – 20-22)

Silence is true wisdom’s best reply.

~ Euripides

4 thoughts on “Week 22 — Consciously Silent

  1. marilynrholloway

    Thank you for sharing your experiences. I completed a 3 day silent retreat at home last week, it was wonderful, peaceful and cleansing. Now I am contemplating doing a 10 day Vipassana retreat sometime this year. It is good to connect with others who are doing this practice on a regular basis. Thank you again!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Nisa Post author

      Congrats Mariilyn! Thanks for sharing your wonderful, peaceful and cleansing energy with me. I am happy to connect with you and learn more from you. Big hugs 😀

      Like

      Reply
  2. Dave Bernstrom

    I so much appreciate you Nisa! You always share valuable information I can use and relate to my own life. This morning I ready your’s and Marilyn’s posts. You are both incredible and I am grateful to be on this journey with you! Sending you a big loving hug!

    Like

    Reply
    1. Nisa Post author

      Many thanks Dave for your kind compliments as always! I felt grateful that I begin my Spring time with your powerful messages. I felt so much inspired and supportive. Big hugs back 😀

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

