Week 22a — The Healing Power of Innate Love and Wisdom

“To be a healing and compassionate presence to others, we need to heal deep within.  For that, we need to connect to a more open, unconditional part of our being, a basic kindness and compassion available in the background of our experience, in our basic awareness.” (Rama John Makransky)

“Today I will be master of my emotions. Flowers bloom; flowers fade. Seeds are sown; harvests are reaped. All nature is a circle of moods and I am a part of nature and so, like the tides, my moods will rise; my moods will fall. Trees and plants depend on the weather to flourish but I make my own weather, yea I transport it with me.” (Mandino, Og. The Greatest Salesman in the World (pp. 78-79))

As I mentioned in my previous blog that I attended a non-residential silent meditation retreat last weekend (Mar 5-6) guided by Rama John Makransky. I noticed that the majority of participants respected the silence very well, and I felt it was much better than I expected.

Rama John taught us how to make our own weather with simple tips based on our Buddhist  meditation:

  • We initially became grounded by deep breathing exercises: inhale through your nose and hold your breath for a few seconds; and then exhale through your mouth by opening your mouth widely with the long sound Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
  • The majority of people close their eyes when they meditate, but Rama John instructed to keep your eyes open and look down.
  • Opening to receive care: Rama John instructed us to recall a brief caring moment i.e.  you enter a restaurant and you are greeted by a smiling waiter… and then you recall the  feeling you had now as if that person were standing in front of you.
    • If you feel cared, that’s good – Open your heart and receive it. If not, acknowledge that feelings or any sensations may happen in your body, and feel it without making stories.  If you resist or ignore your feelings, it will accumulate in your body causing you to be easily triggered. Allow the body to release that sensation naturally, and you will experience calm and peace.  
  • Extending caring love to others: Rama John instructed us on how to extend our caring love to others. It can be very powerful when you feel it. Imagine 3 people – your loved one,  a friend, and a stranger all in front of you right now and you share your caring moment to all 3 of them.
    • Og states”If I bring joy and enthusiasm and brightness and laughter to my customers they will react with joy and enthusiasm and brightness and laughter and my weather will produce a harvest of sales and a granary of gold for me. (Mandino, Og (2011-01-05). The Greatest Salesman in the World (pp. 79-80))

It was very interesting to observe how my body, initially uncomfortable became calm and peaceful. It was a very rich experience. 

I love this exercise because it has reinforced my practice of both meditation and Emotional Freedom Techniques (EFT – Tapping). Both techniques help you to be aware of your feelings, to connect to your body, and to create a new relationship with yourself. This gives you the choice of the silent process through meditation or using EFT where you acknowledge your feeling out loud while you use your index and middle fingers tapping on your body’s main meridian points.  EFT can help people who haven’t practiced meditation and/or people who are new to meditation as well. What I love most is both Rama John Makransky and Gary Craig, EFT Founders, have the same philosophy which is “don’t jump to your positive feelings too quickly” — you have to acknowledge your unpleasant feelings and then let go of it before you can achieve your positive feelings.

“To receive love deeply and extend it impartially can help the mind relax into its most natural state—the wisdom of openness, simplicity, and presence beyond self-clinging. When this unity of love and wisdom is embodied in relationships, service, and action, it can become a supremely curative power for our world.” (Rama John Makransky)

 

2 thoughts on “Week 22a — The Healing Power of Innate Love and Wisdom

Leave a Reply

